Adieu to a Gauguin masterpiece!

At the Phillips Collection, a great exhibition (“Gauguin to Picasso”) with magnificent paintings from Basel. Among them Modigliani, Chagall, Soutine. But for me the gem of the show is the $300 million “NAFEA faaipoipo (When Will You Marry?),” the world’s most expensive painting purchased by a private collector and shown publicly here for the last predictable time. I saw it first in May 1988 when I came especially from Philadelphia to see “The Art of Paul Gauguin” exhibition at the National Gallery. I bought then the exhibition’s poster of this painting. I had it framed and it has followed me ever since. It is still there watching over my private office.

 

https://www.washingtonpost.com/…/d99ca072-6c55-11e5-9bfe-e5…

Comments are closed.

