Milena’s Dream

In June 1921, Milena Jesenská, the Czech journalist and writer whom Franz Kafka loved passionately, had a foreboding dream, frighteningly anticipating her own fate. She died in KZ Ravensbrück on May 17, 1944: “I was infinitely far from my homeland–in America? in China?–somewhere at the other end of the world, when a war or the plague broke out across the globe, or perhaps it was a deluge. I hadn’t heard any details about the catastrophe. But I was torn away by a mad hurry—-haste and excitement. I didn’t know where we were fleeing. Nor did I ask why. Endless trains pulled out from a station into the world, one after the other, all of them overloaded. Panic seized the railroad employees; no one wanted to be the last one left behind. People fought for seats as if they were fighting for their lives. Immense crowds stood beteen the station and me, and it was pointless trying pushing through, I was desperate. ‘I’m young, I can’t die,” I cried.” It is impossible not to sense the terrible premonition. It is impossible not to be shaken by this text…

 

 

 

Comments are closed.

